Birchbox December 2016

Hey,

I recently purchased a 3 month subscription to Birchbox beauty box subscription service, so every month from December through February I will recieve a box in the post containing a few samples and full size products ranging from make up to skincare to tools. I was very excited to receive my first box on Tuesday, and am even more excited to share what I got with you.img_72061

The first item I recieved was one that every suubsriber was given in their box a FULL SIZED Ciate fierce flicks liquid pen eyeliner in black ( there is usually some variation between boxes as your preferences stated in your profile are taken into consideration). I have never used liquid eyeliner before so I am very excited to give this a try. I have tested it on the back of my hand, and the tip feels firm yet flexible which should make for a smooth application. As you can see in the picture below, you can use it to create a thick or thin line. This retails for £15 so Birchbox have spared no expense with delivering their subscribers a great christmas edition!img_72131

I was also given a sample size of Benefit ‘Puff Off’. Every subscriber got a sample of size of an item from the Benefit Cosmetics line, and I am very happy to recieve ‘Puff off’ This product comes in a tube, and is a cream that is supposed to smooth undereye puffiness. In my sample size I recieved 2.5 ml or 0.08 US fl.oz. which is a decent amount to test the product, I think. Very excited to give this a try as Benefit Cosmetics is a company that is often raved about, but their products are fairly expensive and I have never been brave enough to take the splurge. This product in particular is priced at £22.50 for full size, which is 10ml. According to my calculations,this means that this sample is worth around £5.63, which is roughly half the price of my whole box!img_72101

The next item I recieved was a product by anatomicals and it is their ‘smoother butts love coconuts’ coconut and mango bidy lotion. As the name suggests, this brand is one that likes to have fun with the marketing of their products (What it says on the back is even funnier but it’s too much to type out).This product smells divine and I am very excited to try it out. This was another sample size at 50ml or 1.6 fl.oz. which is around hand-cream sized, and in my opinion quite generous. The full sized product contains 200ml and is just £3.99, making it affordable for me to buy if I enjoy this sample. However, this brings the cost of this sample to just £0.99, which is quite stingy, but the way I see it is that I have been introduced to a new brand that, if I enjoy, is cheap to repurchase so I’m not too upset about this.img_7215

My fourth item was the ELEMIS ‘hyrdra-boost day cream’. This product will be great to try as recently I have had dry skin from the cold weather. The directions say to apply this onto cleansed skin every morning, so I am looking forward to seeing how much of a difference this product will make. The full sized is worth £39 and contains 50ml of product, so my sample size which contains 15ml, so at approximately a third of the size, this sample contains £11.70’s worth of product. Nice.img_7212

The final item in my box was the Bobbi Brown ‘Smokey eye’ mascara in black. This sample size has 3ml of product, whereas the full size, which retails for £23, has 5ml of product in it, so unless my maths is an abomination, I have £13.86’s worth of product! So so so excited to give this a try as I’ve never heard of a smokey effect mascara.img_7217

Overall, I am very happy with my Birchbox! The total value of this box, I think and please correct me if I’m wrong, is £47.18 which is amazing as the cost of this box is just £10 a month plus £2.95 postage. Very impressed so far with Birchbox and can’t wait for next month’s box. Hope you enjoyed this post and leave a comment if you would like to see a review of any of the products.

Beth x

Leave a Reply

